Tuesday, May 21, 2019

NGPL workshop on 'Electoral Reforms'

NGPL workshop on electoral eforms in May 2019

Next Gen Political Leaders (NGPL), one of the initiatives of your eMagazinePreSense and an offshoot of the Sansad Ratna Awards organised the third workshop at Chennai on Sunday, 19th May 2019.  NGPL was formed to educate prospective next gen political leaders on the various aspects of parliamentary and democratic procedures and to develop their leadership skills. Fifty young participants from across all political parties coming from various parts of Tamil Nadu State, participated.

In the first session, Shri R Bhagwan Singh (Executive Editor, Deccan Chronicle) and Shri Ravindran Duraiswamy (Political analyst) shared their views about political communication. During the second session, Shri S K Kharvendhan (Former Member of Parliament and Patron of NGPL) and Shri Srinivasa Prabhu (Joint Secretary of Lok Sabha Secretariat) interacted with the participants on the development of leadership skills and knowledge about democracy.  The new logo for NGPL was launched by Shri S K Kharvendhan. In the third session, Dr M Rajendran IAS (Election Commissioner for TN State Cooperative Societies) briefed about the elections in the cooperative system.In the fourth session, contestants for the Member of Parliament seats, Shri DhehlanBaqavi (Central Chennai) and Shri A GMourya (North Chennai) shared their on-field experience.  Shri T K Rangarajan, Rajya Sabha MP chaired the session.  The panellists demanded that electoral reforms should provide for more powers to the Election Commission.

Hon’ble Justice Shri S K Krishnan (Retd Judge of Madras High Court) presented the participation certifications.

Shri Sridhar Raj, President of NGPL announced that similar workshops would be held in other centres too.  SmtPriyadharshini and Shri M R Elangovan, Secretaries were working on conducting similar workshops at Delhi and Tiruchirapalli (Tamil Nadu), he said.

Source : May 2019 issue of PreSense


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...